Parking & Transit, a Division of Campus Operations

4. Accessible Parking

Regulations have been updated to FY19, effective August 1, 2018. Current regulations are also available in PDF form.

4.0 An official state-issued ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act) license plate or placard is required and must be displayed to park in accessible and limited mobility parking spaces or when using upgraded color zone privileges.

4.1 Placard/Tag Registration. Registration of official state-issued ADA placard or license tag with Parking & Transit is required. Owner must follow rules for on campus usage.

4.2 Registered owners of motor vehicles which bear an official state-issued disabled placard or license tag which are being operated by or used for the transportation of the registered owner affiliated with KU, must also purchase a University of Kansas parking permit/e-permit.

4.3 Proof of ownership of state-issued ADA placard (photo ID with State of Kansas wallet ID card or registration receipt) must be presented for registration and purchase of ADA permit/e-permit, and upon request at traffic control booths in order to gain entrance to the central core of campus.

4.4 Use of ADA permit for access to central core of campus may not be used for any purpose other than for registered owner of the ADA placard and permit, i.e. acting as a "taxi" service for friends.

4.5 Visitors with state-issued ADA placard parking on campus 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. Monday through Friday must present identification (see section 4.3) at traffic control booth to verify ownership in order to park free at meters with state-issued ADA placard; pay hourly toll in parking garages; or purchase a visitor permit/e-permit in the Parking & Transit office or at the traffic control booths located at the Chi Omega Fountain or next to Danforth Chapel.

4.6 ADA parking privileges do not include reserved stalls, service stalls, loading zones, no-parking zones, or any other area specifically marked for a purpose other than ADA or Limited Mobility, nor in the hash marked areas next to ADA accessible stalls.


You must have a permit or pay by the hour to park in a KU lot
Parking is self-funded, receiving no state funding or tuition money
15,000 parking spaces on campus
Main campus closed to drive-through traffic 7:45 a.m.–5 p.m.
Anyone with a valid KU Card can ride buses free
Parking meters using Parkmobile now accept credit cards
Follow parking on Twitter: @parkingKU
Visitors should park in parking garages or at meters
Red, Blue, and Gold zones are ticketed Monday through Friday year-round
To use ADA parking, you must register your placard with Parking & Transit and buy a parking permit
In residence hall zones, we patrol continuously and issue tickets day and night starting at 7 a.m. Monday and ending at 5 p.m. Friday when classes are in session
48 hours before closing lots for events, we'll post a real estate sign with the date and time at the entrance
Walking time from lot 57 (Stadium) to Wescoe: 6.5 minutes
Walking time from lot 90 (Recreation Center) to Wescoe: 8.5 minutes
Going to Watkins Health Center? Park at the meters, pay for 1 hour 
Using a yellow permit costs $1.93/day. Park & Ride is $1.41.
You don’t need to own a car to use a car – check out Enterprise Carshare.